Tag Archives: social media

How Social Media Is Crushing Socialism’s “Fairy Dust”

“Worldwide use of social media and the information delivered is crushing the basic assumptions of wealth redistribution with information redistribution.”

2013 is officially a red-media date. Most newspapers, most national media and most online journalists will continue steep declines in readership/followings. Red ink is flowing.

In a sinister sale, Al Gore’s Current TV was sold last week to “dirty, big-oil-funded Al Jazeera” in the Middle East. (So much for “carbon footprints” and “global warming.”)

So you’re strapped in the social media hot seat. Enjoying the ride? Waiting for this brave new world of the collaboration economy to go mainstream. Then it hits you.

Does doing social media make me a socialist?

Surely that’s what the collaboration economy is? The sharing of ideas, everyone working together for the common good, of course there are tribal elements to this too. Not everyone is paid the same; there are currently a number of different tribal leaders that we can choose to follow.  As yet, there is no formal “politburo.”


 

As Peter Kim argues that social media is not socialism he makes what many scholars would say is a basic error in quoting Wikipedia’s definition.  Indeed it is not.  In fact, worldwide use of social media and the information delivered is crushing the basic assumptions of wealth redistribution with information redistribution.

In this age of self-publication, there are many vehicles to choose on how to distribute.

That would rule out the state controlling the means of production and as we have already discussed, not everyone is paid the same for their contributions. There again Marx was writing in an era where the ability to publish was strictly controlled.

The other argument about content distribution and plagerizing is at the heart of where social media moves next. The US is making a huge push to protect intellectual property. However, ever since journalism started, there have been plagiarists that have profited from the work of others. One of the few things we can use to differentiate with others is interviews; the problem lies in that whenever quotes are published, they are free to be used by anyone.

Social media today is built upon content aggregators, creative commons, “free distribution” and the sharing of ideas. It is this latter point that is where social media could most likely be described as socialism.

I am sure you have seen people pop up in your stream who ask your opinion on something where you suspect you are doing their consultancy for them. If the passing of knowledge is circular via groups then something like #blogchat is an ideal example of socialist idea sharing.

Here you have a mix of capitalist consulting meeting the hive-mind/collective knowledge of a group of people that give an hour of their time and experience for the greater good. I have no doubt that there are people making money indirectly through tweet chats asides the moderators that may sell services.

Major sports have socialism elements to them, through either the draft system or revenue sharing or both. Plenty of worldwide health systems, pension and welfare have socialist elements to them. The National Health Service in the UK is socialist but the country is ruled by a Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition. Hardly socialist.

Just as capitalists can pick and choose the elements of social media that are capitalist, surely the opposite can apply to socialism?

Like many arguments, especially political ones, when it comes down to it we are all complex beings, picking and choosing elements that fit into our overall viewpoint. With both capitalist and socialist elements to social media, a system that relies on human interaction will be as diverse and complex as the people that contribute to it.

Social media is freedom!  Thus it cannot be socialistic and in fact bypasses the fundamentals of a controlled, messaged population.  Take that “socialism.”

 

Merchants’ Businesses Sizzling After SpotOn Launch.

 

Seeing a marketplace opportunity to deliver a comprehensive customer loyalty system to independent merchants nationally, we associated with SpotOn.com, offering functionality beyond that of the well-known Yelp. 

“Yelp lacks a social verification feature, a community and there’s no Facebook friend experience,” Business Director Douglas Burson said.  “Yelp is one of those websites that launched prior to the era of social media infiltration and it’s failed to make the transitionLet’s face it. Yelp is like the evil robotic yellow pages. Meanwhile, SpotOn’s friendly flower petal rating system and social features appeal to our much needed restaurant discovery experience.”

The app features personalized recommendations based on your local Foursquare checkin history based on how often you check into places and how you rate places on SpotOn. The app encourages you to rate venues you’ve previously checked into on Foursquare, which might sound like a pain but thanks to its 1-4 petal rating system, reviewing is easy. It even guesses how many petals you might pick based on aggregate ratings. These ratings can then be shared to Buzz, Twitter and Facebook. 

“In short, we take your digital preferences, whether it be Facebook Likes, Foursquare checkins or anything else and make them useful in the real world,” Burson said.


 

To use it: Download it here (Free). Log in through Twitter or Foursquare. Then, SpotOn pulls up a map with a number of restaurant suggestions. Simply click on one of the purple pins to pull up restaurant information including photos and booking information. Then, simply bookmark or share the restaurant. 

The SpotOn app is available for iPhone and Android smart phones. 

We caught up with Gauri Manglik, Co-Founder and CEO to discuss her inspiration behind the delicious new app.

“I had the idea for SpotOn last year while studying computer science at NYU. It was around the time when location based services were just starting to take off. I love the recommendation experience of Netflix and wanted to bring that to places. I decided it needed to be mobile, because unlike Netflix or Pandora when you’re consuming media from your computer, places require you to be active and out in the world to consume them,” explains Manglik.

“We’re really focused on creating a deeper sense of community.  If my best friend who loves coffee rates a coffee shop highly that means something to me. If my vegetarian friend rates a steakhouse I know that’s something I should see,” Manglik says.  SpotOn will likely tap into Hunch and Foodspotting‘s API in the future.

“For those of you who have your SpotOn tablets installed and your rewards program up and running, I hope you are enjoying the benefits of all that SpotOn can do for your business, Burson said.

“Early on the name of the game is to get as many customers signed up for the rewards program as possible. In doing so you build up your data base, from which you are able to establish strong customer relationships via email, Facebook and texting.  This kind of contact will also help you drive business during your off-peak times.” 

For example, if you are seeing a slow week/month unfolding, take a minute to create a new deal for the week/month, or send out an email/Facebook/text blast that offers your customers some sort of incentive to come in to your business. It’s a great way to maintain revenue consistency throughout the month.   

For those of you who haven’t seen it, I’m sending a link to a promotional video of June Bug’s Bakery. This is a CA bakery that is experiencing success using SpotOn.  Feel free to forward the link to whomever you feel may benefit from it. 

Get in touch with me at 816-349-5988 or dburson@spoton.com for more info.! 

Here’s a great introductory video to SpotOn!

http://www.spoton.com/


 

 

Sound Waves and The Future Of Mobile Marketing

 

Your Starbucks runs and concert visits will soon be more interactive.

Imagine the luxury of walking into a coffee shop and receiving a personalized drink deal on your smartphone or tablet upon entry. Or, receiving an automated mobile thank-you note for watching a film, exactly an hour after leaving the theater.

Thanks to Sonic Notify technology, activated by audio, our smartphones are getting smarter. So smart, in fact, they’re interacting with elements in your surroundings to bring you relevant media. By installing Sonic technology into apps, companies can trigger mobile notifications at precise times or specific locations.


 

Co-founders Jonathan Glanz and Alex Bell started developing the unique audio-to-mobile technology in 2011. A year later, brands and entertainers can engage with customers using the patent-pending Sonic technology. The next time you’re standing in the dairy aisle deciding between ice cream flavors, don’t be surprised if you receive mobile recommendations and discounts from a tech-savvy brand.

The sound-triggered technology allows precise delivery of content to mobile devices within apps, Sonic Notify EVP Ross Weinstein tells Mashable. Sonic technology can be integrated into in-store radio broadcasts, TV shows, movies, sporting events or live concerts. The triggering sound, imperceptible to human ears, can also play from discreetly placed devices.

“Anywhere audio is being broadcast, there’s an opportunity for content to be delivered,” Weinstein says.

Sonic Notify’s clients can choose to push out mobile content at a specific time and location. Musicians can push out exclusive media to an entire stadium of fans. Stores can wait to engage customers standing in front of a specific product.

How the Technology Works

Companies and brands interested in Sonic technology should have mobile apps. Installing the Sonic Notify technology into said app is simple. All clients have to do is install Sonic’s SDK — a software kit the company provides — into their app. It’s as easy as adding an extra line of code.

“Anyone can download our SDK and install it into their app whether, it’s a Linkin Park, a Madonna, a sports team or an Epicurious,” Weinstein says. “Name the app and they can all put it in there.”

The next step is to incorporate an imperceptible Sonic sound into your in-store radio, television show, live concert or PA announcement.

“The user can say, ‘I want to deliver these pieces of content at this particular point in time to this particular app or apps,’” Weinstein says. “They take the audio file that we provide, and they mix that into their media.”

Once the Sonic SDK is installed into your app, a user with the mobile app will be able to receive sound-triggered updates. A wireless web connection and GPS capabilities are rarely needed for successful media transmission.

Who’s Already Using Sonic

Sonic works well for live events such as sporting events or concerts. Tech-savvy pop diva Lady Gaga uses Sonic Notify to connect with concert goers. Fans can vote for an encore song and see exclusive images during the show.

It also works well for pre-recorded shows. As long as the Sonic sound is integrated into the show, the consumer’s smartphone or tablet will be able to receive content.

 

“The phone will receive content as long as it’s got an app with our Sonic Notify SDK in it,” he says. “If the app is open, it will receive content. If the app is not open and running in the background, the user will still receive content and … a push notification.”

For the near 12-person team based in New York, it’s all about perfecting this engagement platform. They’re also focused on building accompanying metric systems to measure success.

“The unique piece is the audio that we provide that basically delivers content to the smartphone. It creates a unique experience,” he says.

For the future, the Sonic Notify team hopes to be the go-to user engagement tool. The team hopes to be ubiquitous across all apps in as many places that have speakers and microphones as possible.

Do you think integration of mobile technology with our surroundings will increase in popularity?


 

 

The 27-Million-Man Lark. “Obamaphones” Now Newest, Fastest, Most Furious Social Media Tool.

 

The “Obamaphone.”

Signing up for a free phone and monthly minutes is so easy…27 million welfare recipients have one.  And it makes a great Social Media Texting tool for use by the Obama administration.

Here’s what we are told:

“The State and Federal government has a program that provides free cellphones and free talk time to people with low income as well as senior citizens. This subsidized program is called Lifeline phones assistance program.

But Obama hasn’t initiated it; it started few decades back and got its current format after going through several changes within this time. Safelink Wireless, the largest cellphone provider of the Lifeline program and a subsidiary of Tracfone, was created under the administration of George William Bush which received grants from a company that was launched during the Bill Clinton’s time and it was done because of an act passed by President Franklin Roosevelt which in turn was influenced because of an agreement between President Woodrow Wilson’s administration and some telecom service providers.

So you can realize that this free cellphone service has a pretty long history and the claim about the Obama phone is nothing but a false rumor.”

In truth, Obamaphone users call it just that…one lady nearing death in the hospital asked her doctor “for her Obamaphone” to make a “last call to a relative.”

At present, free cellphone with 250 free minutes is provided to financially disabled people. It has been included during Bush’s administration. Several telecom companies have been approved to provide cellphones to the qualified people living in the United States and within US territory. This service is not for everyone. You need to fulfill certain requirements to avail this facility provided by the government. These requirements are almost same in all the states as it has been set by the government.

Currently, the government is thinking of providing free wireless internet service to the people under this program instead of old-fashioned land phones. It’ll be a great effort if government includes this service in Lifeline program.


 

VIDEO: Laid-Off Postal Worker Snaps!

Laid-Off Postal Worker Licks Last Stamp and Snaps!


 

Congratulations! It’s Twin Golden Book Awards!

 
 
Print and radio creative direction by Douglas Burson was recognized with two marketing division awards from the 2012 Gold Book Awards, which are presented each year at the annual Association of Directory Publishers convention and trade show.
 
Entries were judged by a jury of peers and knowledgeable industry experts. The awards were for First Place in the Excellence in Sales Support Collateral category and Second Place in the Excellence in Radio Advertising category. Congratulations Doug!
 


 

Are You Age 40+. Inforgraphic Shows Why You Are Unhireable Without This Set Of Skills.

1. The Social Engagement Spectrum

socialengagementspectrumjpg 35 Great Social Media Infographics


2. 10 Levels of Intimacy in Today’s Communication

levelsofcomm 35 Great Social Media Infographics


3. The Social Media Effect

socialmedia.final  35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

4. Social Marketing Compass

socialmediacompass 35 Great Social Media Infographics


5. Facebook vs. Twitter

Facebook versus Twitter 35 Great Social Media Infographics


6. Balance Your Media Diet

by media diet f 35 Great Social Media Infographics


7. Social Media Statistics

social media statistics 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

8. Social Web Involvement - Sweettomatosocial web involvement 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

9. The Spectrum of Online Friendship

spectrum friendship 35 Great Social Media Infographics


10. How People Share Content on the Web

 

facebookleadssharing1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

11. Donut Marketing

Donut Marketing 35 Great Social Media Infographics


12. Twitter Territory

Twitter Territory 35 Great Social Media Infographics


13. Twitter PR Strategy

strategictwitter 35 Great Social Media Infographics


14. The Journey of a Tweet

journey of twitter post 35 Great Social Media Infographics


15. The Hierarchy of Digital Distractions

hierarchy distractions 960 35 Great Social Media Infographics


16. When Social Media Attacks

whensocialmediaattacks 35 Great Social Media Infographics


17. The Art of Listening

artoflistening 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

18. The Conversation Prism

conversationprism 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

19. Word of Mouth Visualized

wordofmouthvisualized 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

20. Social Web Reputation Management Cycles

social web reputation mgmt cycles 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

21. Twitter Statistics

If  the Twitter Community were 100 People1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

22. The Story (So Far) of Twitter

the story of twitter1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

23. Who Participates Online

whoparticipatesonline 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

24. Gender Balance on Social Networking Sites

Gender Balance on Social Networking Sites 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

25. Building a Company With Social Media

Social Media Building 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

26. The Life Cycle of a Blog Post, From Servers to Spiders to Suits—to You

the life cycle of a blog 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

27. Social Media Spending

Social Media Dollars1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

28. The Facebook Juggernaut

facebook juggernaut1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

29. Twitter Perceptions of Google Buzz Over Time

googlebuzzprivacy 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

30. Breakdown of the Blogosphere

blogosphere 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

31. Visualizing 6 Years of Facebook

facebook viz small 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

32. The Boom of Social Sites

the boom of social sites1 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

33. Age Distribution of Social Sites

age distr per site 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

34. Make Social Media Work for Your Company

makesocialwork 35 Great Social Media Infographics

 


 

35. The World Map of Social Networks

The World Map of Social Networks 35 Great Social Media Infographics


 

Why You’re Not On Google’s First Page. Social Media/SEO Tips The Pros Use.

Justifying the Value of SEO

Editor’s Update: One of the points to be kept in mind in any aspect of SEO is return on investment of time, money…ultimately, the margin on your digital asset. You may have a #1 Ranking on a keyword, for example, but at what cost?

Most people don’t set fair expectations for a search engine optimization (SEO) effort. I was reminded of this while speaking with a prospect, who asked what kind of a return on investment (ROI) he should expect from his SEO engagement.

“I’m expecting exponential growth, something like 20X the traffic that I’m currently getting,” he told me. “If we can get a number 1 ranking for this one keyword, that should be enough to get us there, don’t you think?”

One Top Ranking Isn’t Enough

Your goal can’t be to rank number 1 on one keyword. That’s not a goal.

What happens if you get the top ranking for your keyword and something happens, such as a major algorithm tweak by Google? You’ve then lost your ranking for that one keyword. What then?

Though everyone has one of those keywords that they salivate over, a solid, long lasting presence in the search engines is one in which your presence is balanced across a number of keywords.

A “goal” should be increasing traffic and – at the end of the day – growing your business (more leads, more sales, and ROI).

SEO vs. Paid Search

Many people find it easy to budget for paid search. They understand the basic premise:

  • Spend $1 per click.
  • Set a budget of $10,000.
  • Get 10,000 clicks for keywords I want to “rank” for.

But what if you could potentially get 20,000 clicks by investing that same $10,000 in SEO rather than PPC advertising? Wouldn’t that be an even better deal?

To be fair, the above example is an over-simplification only intended to make a point. This 20,000 might represent a 10 percent increase in “good” traffic – meaning traffic that’s relevant, converts into a lead or sale, or at least shows some quality measurements (e.g., time on site).

After telling this to the prospect, he paused. “I’ve never really thought about it that way.”

SEO ROI: No Guarantees?

  • There’s no search volume for the keywords you’re
    interested in targeting – no amount of number 1 rankings could ever equal ROI.

SEO can be high risk, high reward. When I say “high risk,” I’m not talking about the kind of high risk associated with the possibility of being banned/penalized in the search engines for such tactics as hacking, cloaking, spamming, etc.

My point is that, even given that you work within the search engine’s guidelines, there truly are no guarantees because we don’t own the search engines. Search engines are a third party we have zero control over.

A “Good” ROI on SEO

If you’re investing $10,000 per month in an SEO effort (be it in staff costs or with an agency), you need to get a sense as to what a “good ROI” looks like.

Perhaps you’re one of many who have noticed that cost per click in paid search is getting higher and higher for the keywords that you’ve been targeting. Perhaps it’s gotten to a point where it’s challenging to make a case that the money spent is worth it?

Let’s say that you sell a widget for $100, and you net 30 percent from each sale ($30). If your average cost per click is $1 and you convert 1 percent into a sale, that’s $100 invested in paid search for 100 clicks for a $100 sale in which you netted $30.

Unless you care about the branding value (which I would argue folks should consider, at least a little bit, when they’re looking at valuation of PPC and SEO), that’s not a good ROI. In fact, that’s no ROI. That’s a loss.

What would you need your investment to be for this to pay off? Let’s do some math: out of every 100 visitors, we convert 1 percent into a sale in which we make $30. We would need 3,000 visitors to get 30 sales. Those 30 sales would be worth $3,000 (300 X $100/each) and we would net 30 percent of this ($900). Since we’d need about 10 times that revenue to make this work, we’re going to need 10 times the number of visitors (30,000).

Do we feel that we could put $7,000/month worth of resources (money/time, etc.) into a SEO effort to help to achieve the goal of gaining 3,000 visitors? Or, perhaps the conversion rate is way off and it’s more like 5 percent?

Perhaps we need 6,000 visitors? Are we willing to fund this “at a loss” (during the initial months of research, etc.) in order to hopefully realize the potential ROI for the months thereafter?

Tools to Help Determine the Value of SEO
Once you’ve mapped out how, and/or if, SEO can drive ROI then you can begin to discuss how much value/opportunity there may be and what the risks and rewards might be.

I’ve mentioned these tools before, but to get a sense of what the potential value of an SEO effort might be, I would recommend SEMRush and SpyFu Recon. There are certainly many other providers which can also help with an opportunity assessment and I welcome readers to comment below and share with others tools that you might use and why you like them.

Written By My Good Friend Mark
Jackson
; Edited By Douglas Burson

Money, The Human Element and Digital Citizens: Arthur Tassinello

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve received some negative feedback about my belief we all have a role in Digital Citizenship…not unlike the responsibility held in everyday life when we are up close and elbow to elbow.

It’s caused me to reflect and brings to mind important ideas more meaningful than advertising, internet marketing or even hallowed SEO. It made me think of this dialog written by Arthur Tassinello. Subscribe or at least learn more about Arthur. He is a good friend and wise digital citizen…citizen.

Arthur Tassinello, The Coffeehouse Coach: http://www.thecoffeehousecoach.com

“Of all 117 elements in the universe we are the one element that changes everything, we are “The Human Element.”  So says the Dow Chemical Co.

Why do I like that statement so much?

Because it is absolutely true.

And while other elements can take on different forms we are the only element that can choose whether we evolve or change.

But are we evolving or changing for the better?  Have we learned anything from our history?  Or are we going to be forced into making the changes necessary to see all Humans not just surviving, but thriving?

Time after time man has faced the same or similar circumstances, yet we continue to make the same mistakes, travel the same path and then expect a different result.  Or is it that the few mighty and wealthy individuals seem to chart the course for all of humanity because they possess the power to blatantly exploit others with their need for control and greed?

Elvis Costello

We continually see those in power, whether politicians or corporate denizens exploiting others to achieve their lone goals with total disregard for how they affect the planet and other humans, as if they could escape all the environmental damages caused by their inconsiderate actions.  Why do they believe that they can getaway with the mistreatment of other humans, and causing physical, and financial difficulties through their greed?

Will it take a total collapse of our systems, infrastructure, and climate to force the changes so the playing field becomes level? It seems that as smart as the 1% believe they are, they too will become trapped in their own webs, sooner, or later.

It is amazing that even in the face of the dire need for a total revamping of our government, more control of financial institutions, curtailing spending, and overhauling of energy systems to decrease fossil fuel usage we continue to make the same choices.  We continually refuse to step out of the box with new thinking, by exercising new procedures, and with the true understanding that we must be our brother’s keeper.


 

The question is no longer why are we where we are, but how will we change, now, to avoid the seeming catastrophe that awaits us, and create harmony on the planet.  Until everyone sees that we are made of the same stuff, the same “Elements”, then we will continue to face the same dilemmas, have unrest, and major discord. And while I may be calling out that 1% that “Occupy Wall Street” and “Occupy Oakland” and other groups speak about, it is more.  The other groups who make up the 99% are the police who blindly follow the orders of the elite to squash their brethren.  Why are they protecting the very people who have been at the root cause of our financial dilemma?

Without morals, without integrity, and without regard for another “Human Element” we are doomed.  The point is that we, each and every one of us, have the opportunity to live within, and in integrity at each and every moment. It is a choice to be honest, fair, compassionate, and loving.  To want the best for all Humans, to not lie, cheat or steal from your fellow man.  Live your life holding dear to you the messages of Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Jesus Christ, and so many others in creating equality and peace.

You, we, everyone one of us on this planet deserve food, water, shelter, and love at a minimum.  Be a part of “We Are One” and do your part now by living your life with compassion, understanding, and integrity.

Will you do that starting today? Will you pass this message on to others and show your support for us, “The Human Element?”


 

 

Good Digital Citizenship In The “Age Of Googleism?”

Studying the front page of Digg or Reddit can give you some pretty decent insight into what kinds of content is worthy of the communities votes. However, it’s nothing compared to what you can learn by reading and being an active member of the “social” part of social media:   The Comments!

If you’re looking for insights into the “algorithms” of your favorite social news and bookmarking sites…this is your pay dirt.  But getting to know the community is just one reason to join in on the conversation…the other,  vital to the success in the world of social bookmarking,  is networking.

Regular commenting, especially on stories and submissions within your topic or category is a necessary part of building a social network.  While most social news and bookmarking sites allow comments to be voted on, which can help build (or hurt) your profile’s “karma” as Reddit calls it…that’s not the main goal.

What’s more important is that active commenting shows you have a desire to be part of the community.  Those who skip this part may still be able to build a network of  “digg this and I’ll digg yours” friends but they’ll be missing some of the most important votes of all:


 

1.  Be A Good Citizen In Your Digital Community!  Building a network within a social bookmarking community means voting on stories that have been recently submitted – not just after they’re on the homepage.  This activity gives you the perfect opportunity to get your comment in before the masses.  Being first to comment on a submission has obvious advantages.

Making the first comment means yours will be the first other users read as well as the longest running, giving you a better chance to rack up those up-votes.  Most importantly, being early means that users (particularly the submitter who probably is still actively promoting their sub) will be more likely to notice you and your comment.  Hint: if you’re trying to get the attention of power users, this is the perfect place to start).

2.  Read and Reply!  One of the most frustrating parts of social commenting sections is duplicate comments.  If you don’t take the time to read what’s already been said, you run the risk or repeating another user’s comment, and your comment will more than likely be buried.  Furthermore, reading through what others have said gives you an opportunity to reply to other great comments that could start a new conversation.  Replying directly to comments can also even send your comment directly to a user’s e-mail inbox (depending on their settings) gives you just one more chance to be noticed.
“…reading through what others have said gives you an opportunity to reply to other great comments that could start a new conversation.”
3.  “Add To The Conversation.”  Lame comments like “what a great article” or “this was pretty cool” just isn’t going to get it done.  And while being funny can be great, to make the most of commenting as a networking strategy, you really need to say something that somehow expands on a submission or that can evoke a conversation.  Think of it as your goal to get users to reply to your comment – obviously without anything negative.
If you’re link dropping, be sure that the link follows this rule too, or you could find yourself in bigger trouble than simply buried.  One more thing: leave your personal stories out of it.  If you’re a member of Digg, and one of your comments gets the  reply: “Cool story, bro.”  You fail.

4.  “It’s a Trap!  Avoid Comment “Memes.”  Comment “memes” are essentially comments that are either repeated across a thread (or multiple threads) that generally follow a pattern or theme.  Every once in a great while, you might see a “comment meme” used in a way that’s both appropriate and perhaps even… enjoyable.  That’s the exception to the rule.  These types of comments are not really the kind that help you build your network.  If used properly it might get you some up-votes, but as I said earlier, that’s not the main goal.  Generally speaking, avoid comment memes in comment sections.

5.  “Get To Know The Worldwide Community.”  Before you try jumping right into a community, it’s probably wise to take some time to get to know that community first.  Look over the comments, particularly in your niche, and get to know where the users generally stand on hot topic issues.
Find the top comments and take note of what types of comments are attracting the most up-votes.  Perhaps more importantly, take note of comments that have the most down votes to see what types of comments and opinions aren’t wanted.  It’s not that you have to pretend to be someone you’re not…but taking the time to do this will probably help you avoid making a comment that offends and/or gets buried.

6.  “Stay Positive -  Don’t Be A Troll.”  Making negative comments on a thread or reply is pretty much whatever the opposite of networking is.  Leave your strong opinions to yourself and focus on the task at hand.  Nobody likes a troll.  Entering into a flame war doesn’t help anyone.  Remember the saying: “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”?  Apply that here and you’ll be just fine.
7.  “Lonlely Hearts Are Not For You!”  If social media is a part of your online marketing strategy, then commenting in social news communities should be a part of your every day social media routine.  It’s a surefire way to get noticed by users (especially power users) and will more than likely be a catalyst to building a strong social network.  If you’re lucky you may even get the attention of some of the content producers opening opportunities for things like guest articles, media contacts, and even LINKS!

*Reference:  My Friend Todd Heim


 

 

For even more detailed strategies and internet marketing insights go to:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-idigital-organic-media/184606791615705